Stink Eye :) - Indie Blues, I Dunno - Production, What!?

keith.rogers

This is a cover of a friend's song that he's done a few times and has been over stringing some things together to try and get some ideas on arrangements. A basic 3 chord tune that's almost novelty but I really like it. This is me croaking it out, using his tempo (more or less) from his scratch recording (he actually sings it a lot better), but he's working on the click thing, so I did it to let me throw in some computer percussion, so we can try out some ideas for arrangements down the road. Anyway, long story short, I am not a producer, but it's an interesting thought process to try and figure out what might be the right route.

So, this is what I tossed together with a bass track "phoned in" from a friend. Does this hold water at all? My personal circle of folks could go more country or bluesy, even swing, but I don't have any hope of going too far out in terms of being able to pull folks in, e.g., if someone suggests death-metal-psychedelic-emo, or whatever. The writer can go in a lot of directions, from country, blues, jazz (smooth or even a TW growl).

Stink Eye (cover of Raoul Chazez song)

Last edited:
Well, I certainly like the song. It has a great feel and lyrics sound good.

There are a couple timing issues here and there but probably not too noticeable.

If it were mine, I would try to make that bass a little more distinct, and separate from the guitar more. At times it sounds like a upright bass which would be cool.

On my monitors it sounds like everything is a little congested in the mid-frequency range. It may just be the guitar, but being a guitar driven song like this its hard to get a good balance sometimes.

Sounds really cool though man. Good job.

[MENTION=185027]Bruthish[/MENTION], thanks for the listen and comments.