SM-57, SM-58 and e835

Centropolis

I am very new to recording and was handed down from my brother a Shure SM-57, SM-58 and a Sennheiser e835.

Generally speaking, my understanding is the Sm-58 and e835 are vocal mics and Sm-57 is an instrument mic.

My newbie question is, what makes the 57 and instrument mic and not the 58? Can I get away with miking an electric guitar amp with an 58 or the e835?

Another newbie question is, will using a large diaphragm condenser mic such as a Rode NT-1A on miking an electric guitar amp a good idea or is the signal too strong for sensitive mics?

The windscreens are the difference.

There is no reason the NT1 cannot handle a guitar amp...I have the loudest one (Sunn Model T) and it still doesnt kill most modern LDC mics.

You can use the 57 for almost anything. I read somewhere (on Sure's site I think) that a 57 has been used on the podium for the President for the last 30 years.

I am very new to recording and was handed down from my brother a Shure SM-57, SM-58 and a Sennheiser e835.

Generally speaking, my understanding is the Sm-58 and e835 are vocal mics and Sm-57 is an instrument mic.

My newbie question is, what makes the 57 and instrument mic and not the 58? Can I get away with miking an electric guitar amp with an 58 or the e835?

Another newbie question is, will using a large diaphragm condenser mic such as a Rode NT-1A on miking an electric guitar amp a good idea or is the signal too strong for sensitive mics?

You CAN use the NT1 on an amp--the question is do you WANT to? You have to try it and find out. I sometimes use a condenser as a main amp mic when tracking clean sounds; I also use it back a few feet as a second "room" mic sometimes when recording distorted guitar. The main mic in that case is usually a dynamic (like your 57).

There's no better (or funner--is that a word?) way to find out than to try 'em yourself. You'll get a good sense of what works when and learn about the mics along the way.