Seriously...come on! +4 or -10

RecordingMaster

A Sarcastic Statement
Complete noob question but the only answer I've ever gotten is "it depends on your setup". Well my setup is extraordinarily simple, so surely someone kind (and knowledgeable) has to have an answer for me... :confused:

My set up is in my siggy, but to put it in long form, I have the following chain (which gets switched around using my patchbay depending on the given task):
20 channel audio snake > ART Pro MPA II Mic pre amp with +4/-10 switch > ART Pro VLA II compressor with +4/-10 switch > TASCAM US-1800 interface with +4/-10 switch > iMac OSX 10.68 > Pro Tools 9 > Pug laying on floor

So, naturally I'd imagine they should either ALL (the 3 outboard devices) be set to +4 or ALL be set to -10. So which one would it be in my case? Seems no one has ever had a definitive answer. Is this really that much of a blunder?

Main reason I ask, is most have suggested +4, but the other night tracking and using the VLA (with the chain above), it was causing quite a hiss when activated as opposed to being in bypass (with my speakers turned up to the max, mind you). I googled the issue and all's I could find was "make sure you're running your stuff at the correct one: +4 or -10". Gah!

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks as always! :)

Last edited:
it depends on your setup....
and which side your pug is laying on.
:)

I don't really have a solid answer for ya but I've just tried both and went with which one sounded cleanest.
Like ya mentioned the hiss...maybe that's one of the differences between "pro" vs "consumer" gear.
?

I dunno but you really should rotate the pug. ;)

In theory you should go with +4 if ALL your gear supports it. It's a hotter signal with the potential to be quieter.
Either can work fine but theoretically +4 is considered superior.