seeking intro to vintage speakers and amplification on the cheap

Maldoror

i got a teac A-3440 and i need to find some speakers and amplification for it. I don't know anything about what to look for...i'm new to vintage audio. i'd like something vintage and good quality, but i need to keep it around 100 for both. so what's a good cheap receiver and some speakers i should look for?

i got a teac A-3440 and i need to find some speakers and amplification for it. I don't know anything about what to look for...i'm new to vintage audio. i'd like something vintage and good quality, but i need to keep it around 100 for both. so what's a good cheap receiver and some speakers i should look for?

Garden variety stereo amp or receiver and a pair of speakers. Why vintage? Do you think it won't sound right unless it's played through things from the same era?

Another option is to look for bargains on self-powered monitors...not gonna find anything with oomph though...

eBay...I see Tascam PA20mkII amps going for $50 or so sometimes and you may be able to find some decent two-way bookshelf speakers on the cheap...try www.bensbargains.net for deals on speakers, or check and see if www.partsexpress.com has any deals going on speakers.

thanks for the replies...
i just found a scott receiver and some klh speakers at goodwill for $10. seems to be all i need for now. what is the function of the rubber around the woofer cone. these are deterierated, but sound fine to me.

thanks for the replies...
i just found a scott receiver and some klh speakers at goodwill for $10. seems to be all i need for now. what is the function of the rubber around the woofer cone. these are deterierated, but sound fine to me.

They're the surrounds and should be replaced.