Rode NTK and tube mics in general

johnnynoony

I'll admit I'm a newbie but I have scoured all of the information available to me in fear of being chastised by the "elders" and have a simple question(s). There is a lot of tossing and turning between the 4033, 4050, C1 and blahblahblah- so hard to try and decide. But I've heard some people state they would never buy anything but a tube mic(maybe not here- but I've heard it)- I suppose for the same reason we could get in with amps(another can of worms). Is there a major difference in tube mics vs.? And is the Rode NTK a good utility mic especially for someone deciding on a home recording set up(?Yamaha AW4416, recording male vocals, acoustic/electric guitar, drums, piano, music alernative/modern rock, Yamaha msp 5's?) Sorry for the long post and I thank you ahead of time for your patience.

Dave

The NTK is a well respected mic for different applications.

Get a mic becuase you like the tone. Whether it uses a tube or not is pretty irrelevant. There are smooth and warm non tube mics and harsh and thin tube mics.

People who will not buy anything but a tubemic doesn't know shit about microphones..... buy a '57 and stick it up their ass next time they open their mouth.

Yes, tube mics are much warmer and smoother. And while tube pre's are also warmer, for some reason they are much more uncomfortable.

So, in keeping with the spirit of the thread and of the board...

What's the BEST tube mic for sticking up somebody's ass? I'd start a poll, but...I don't wanna get flamed...;-b

I can call for the best AND priciest tubemic up someone's ass:
Neumann M149.
I believe this mutha is 4" in width... Should be a real John Holmes-experience for the "receiver". ;)
:D

H2oskiphil said:
So, in keeping with the spirit of the thread and of the board...

What's the BEST tube mic for sticking up somebody's ass? I'd start a poll, but...I don't wanna get flamed...;-b