Ringo became a Beatle 50 years ago TODAY!

I've always felt that Ringo was a very basic drummer. I mean, I could play along to most Beatles songs when I was a teenager / rookie.

My, how time fly.
I was a mere embryo in my Mama's womb while Ringo pounded the skins with the Beatles for the first time.
Of course, it was after I was born that they really took off ! :D

I've always felt that Ringo was a very basic drummer. I mean, I could play along to most Beatles songs when I was a teenager / rookie.
Lots of people say this or similar and it's true. I feel the same way about Adam Clayton's bass playing in U2. Sometimes I've said to people "I could've been the bass player in U2".
But I say it tongue in cheek because I'm particularly aware that such a statement totally misses the point. The issue isn't whether any competent drummer could've drummed on the Beatles' stuff {And Andy White on 'Love me do' & 'PS, I love you', Jimmy Nicol on a few 1964 gigs and Paul McCartney on a number of White album tracks and 'The ballad of John & Yoko' did just that, while Bernard "Pretty" Purdie claimed to have drummed on 21 tracks from 1963} but rather, that Ringo Starr did and it was that symbiosis of Lennon, McCartney, Harrison and Starr {with occasional support from George Martin and after 1964, a large array of sessioneers} that made those tracks what they were.