Rewrite of inquiry about mixing to format

JeffF

Hello visited Community,

Respectfully, as a relative beginner, I've never heard previously about mixing to format. I appreciate your allowing me to inquire about this.

Is the MP3 forum's overarching view that the particular dynamics of MP3 compression loss can be further mixed toward compensation, thereby, potentially creating a better mix in MP3 format?

I do respect the integrity of others trying to get the best mix from a commonly used format if typical playback devices can reproduce that compensation and the average user can discern it from simple WAV to MP3 conversion. Do I understand the effort being made here?

I ask because I am learning on a Tascam DP24SD that creates WAV files. (A spinal issue makes learning DAW to further mix in MP3 unlikely since sitting over my computer for lengthy periods would be physically difficult. I'm hoping to find the Tascam somewhat easier than setting at a screen.)

Even though I would be distributing on a free download platform, I need your impression of whether the average user can discern WAV converted straight to MP3 if using a low-end playback device.

Otherwise, I could label files as suggested for computer or CD playback only if MP3 conversion is meant for higher-end playback devices.

Most respectfully and appreciatvely, JeffF.

Last edited:
Hi Jeff,
I don't think it's ever come up before but the forum title 'mp3 mixing clinic' is probably misleading.
No one is (or should be) mixing to/for/with mp3. It's just a convenient final output format in terms of file size.

Any daw should create wavs or aiffs (or other lossless formats) when recording, and the final output file, for lossless, should also be wav/aiff.
Choosing to create an mp3 with, or instead of, that wav is a choice, but it has no impact on the processes that take place prior.