recording with a producer

Had a new customer come in today. They have a producer, this is my first time with a producer and I'm not sure where my boundaries are. I've asked them to ask the producer what exactly he will be doing with them and what I'm to expect to proceed. I own a home studio and do this in my spare time so I'm not sure if this is going to be a great idea.

They were mentioning that they are not sure if he will be mixing the project, but I told them I'd rather he didn't. First of all, I work with cubase so if he uses pro tools it means sending each individual track as wav. This would probably take more time to mix it. Also he has a solid pedigree, but I'll I've heard is jazz music he's done and this is a ska/punk type band. Not sure how that is going to fit. They also like my previous work recording/mixing so I'm not sure what the point is here.

They want to do a full album, but I'm a little concerned this is going to turn into a big cluster $#$%. I've arranged a meeting with him and the band to make sure everything is clear before we proceeds, any advice or experience on this?

If the band is truly willing to let him drive...then you should just be dealing with him once the session starts, and let him deal with the band.

But if you get caught in-between the band and the producer, where they are all trying to drive....then yeah, that's a cluster &!@$

Also...a producer CAN have his hand in the mixing...but he shouldn't just push you out of the way, either. If the guy really has some skills...I think you can have a good time working together...always room to learn and see things from a new perspective. :)

Don't make the meeting too confrontational....and don't sweat the small stuff (like formats and what not)...just work the situation.

Once you start sending full session files back and forth that is when the sh!t will hit the fan.