Recording tracks...

So something that has been really puzzling me lately is how to record the individual tracks into my DAW. I'm new to recording in general and the site and trying to figure out the best most time effective way to go about my recordings.

I honestly have no clue if professional musicians actually record a guitar track for example straight through from beginning to end perfectly or if they do individual sections and then string it all together. Like record the chorus then a verse, intro, etc.

I haven't had much luck with doing the second mentioned, recording in parts, I can never match up parts perfectly and it just doesn't sound natural.

I don't claim to be an Eric Clapton or anything but consider myself a good guitarist, but it still seems like asking alot, to record a track almost flawlessly from beginning to end.

I just wanted to ask the community how they go about the tracking process?

Tl:Dr: What's best? to record a track all the way through, or in separate parts?

Record 3-5 solid takes, and then comp to a final track...
...or you can to 835 takes trying to nail that one perfect take...if that's how you like to fill out a few hours of your time. ;)

I usually have one out of 3-5 takes that's the strongest, almost good throughout...and then I'll just comp in those few spots where things went a bit off.

Sometimes it's also fun to just do a few freestyle takes...then edit comp bits-n-pieces to creat your lead parts...then learn and actually record that lead you created....but that takes time too.
The best/fastest is the 3-5 takes and comp to a final.

solid advice! the key is if your going to play more than one take and comp them together you have to make sure all your settings are exactly the same or the tone or volume will change when you have to switch from one to the other.