Recording/Mixing Using Otari MX-5050 MKIII-8 and Tascam M-308B

b.glyde

Hi,

After many perusals through this forum, I have finally settled on a Tascam M-308B to hook up to my Otari MX-5050 MKIII-8. Both are in good working order and (I think) are each good to go. However, I am a complete noob when it comes to this stuff, and am seeking assistance. I don't have cabling yet, and want to make sure I have my order correct before placing it (probably with Redco? any other ideas welcome). I asked an engineer friend of mine to come over and look at my setup, but he was not too familiar with either machine. He said it would probably take me more hours than I have to really learn how to use them. My plan had been to put together a split console setup with the aforementioned machines, plus a basic Mackie mixer I have for monitoring while recording.

I am a bit discouraged, however, because being totally new to this stuff, I am not sure whether I have the time to learn how to really make this an easy system to use. I have young kids at home, a full-time job, etc. I feel like I need to have some Zoom lessons with someone to teach me--I just don't have time to sift through forums and watch YouTube videos and pore over the manuals. Any takers who are familiar with this stuff???? I am worried I have gotten in over my head and need to scrap this plan. I am at the "keep going" or "give up, sell the stuff, and just use ProTools" phase in my home recording journey.......:ROFLMAO:

[For background: I love tape recording and have used a trusty Tascam Portastudio 414mkII for 25 years....also use GarageBand plenty...I just have dreamed of having a "simple" higher-fi but still basically lo-fi home setup to get a cool sound in the garage...and I like the tape workflow better....but I don't know how to fix anything myself and am at such a beginning level that I don't even know how to properly load a reel of tape....I know, I know, total noob here]