Recording Guitar

musicsdarkangel

I know there probably have been several posts similar to this, but I'm not very good at navigating through these topics.

When I record my Ibanez through my Line 6 ax2, I usually put the mic (Shure SM57) 3 inches away, aimed towards the center of the grill, slanted downwards.

No matter what I do, the sound in playback always sounds more muddy, and less singing, like the highs have been taken away, and there is no soul at all.

I am just an 18 year old who records in his room (carpeted floor, no wood at all).

When I directly hook up my amp to the Omnistudio soundcard (delta 66) I have, the results are slightly better, but not satisfactory.

This is really starting to frustrate me, so any help would be highly appreciated.

answer

i'll pass on what a AE once told me .
a lot of the great guitar songs were not done with what you might think. there were no guitar amp simulation devices
around when duane eddy did his thing.
it was all experimentation with different mic positions, different settings on amps, different rooms etc.
so will have to experiment a lot. this is the whole raison d'etre of
audio engineering. you might start by telling what sound card you use ?