Recording 101

dannoman

I've been recording on my BR8 for a few years...and I just cannot get a sound that I like. For mics I use a SM57,MXL2003, and MKL603...usually use the 603 for guitar and the 2003 for vocals. Blue Tube mic pre and compressor. I prefer to record vocal and guitar simultaneously, but usually don't like the result. Any tricks for recording vocal/guitar simultaneously? I hear other home recordings that sound so clear and bell-like using cheap soundcards...is there that big of a difference, quality-wise, between a DAW and a PC based recorder? Here's a rough cut of my last tune. Any and all feedback appreciated.

http://www.acidplanet.com/artist.asp?play=427382&T=9481

Danno

Holy Hiss. That has to be one of the most noisey recording's I've ever heard. You're pretty talented though. The guitar just seems much too distant, my personal taste is to have it much more upfront and intimate kind of how your vocals are. Are you dialing in a lot of the "tube" part of your presonus? If so, STOP, it doesn't do anything more than add noise which you definately don't need more of. Don't let anything under 400 bucks with a "toob" fool you into thinking you're going to get "warm" sound. You'd probably be better of with a dmp3 and an fmr rnc. By the way, what's a br8? Oh and yes, a cheap soundcard(99 dollars or so) meant for recording(and that's the key part) and a free program like Audacity(that's free right?) can yield pretty darn good results in the right hands. Can you give more info into how you're setting up your mics and so on?

I actually like how the strumming guitars tone came out, (or maybe its the chord progression, cuz I'm lovin' that) but as jonnyc said, very very noisy and distant.

Maybe if you could elaborate a little bit on your recording process...

You have a good voice.

What's the recording room like?

You're using mikes that emphasize anything harsh in the sound.