rack cases!

why are rack cases so freakin expensive? I'm a guitarist so I have guitar effects, but I'm just starting to accumulate rack gear for recording. Is there no alternative to this rip-off casing stuff just to keep it all neat and together? ANYTHING??? If so, where can I get it? I've seen nothing other than the cases. What's up with that?

Hey random(luv the name!)Use the "search"function of this
BBS. There were several threads about building your own and
saving some $$$$'s.

yo dude i just posted somethin somewhere else and he didn't answer my question...just said yeah i like that name. so thanks, and i'll try that search thing cuz that'd help. i also need a patchbay once i get enough stuff to make a mess of chords...but they're way too much in my opinion too...it's just a connector for all your stuff and they blow you away with it. cripes!

As noted,racks for home use are relatively easy (and cheap) to build.The SKB rack cases aren't too bad.I paid $50 at guitar satan for a three space SKB rack case.That's cheaper than a guitar case.
Save your indignation for a more appropriate target,like the Gibson custom shop,$4000 plus for a Les Paul,right....
Or how about $500-800 for an entry level brazillian rosewood classical?Want a vintage strat?I saw a '61 "V" style NECK ONLY at the last Arlington guitar show for $1000.Sheesh!
Tom

yeah i won't cripe on it anymore, but at least that stuff is the STUFF. ya know you actually use it. i wuz just sayin that it's freakin cases so it shouldn't cost you just as much to get one as it does to get the actual rack effect to put in it! i am done.

randompurpleness:

I see how you take compliments.

But don't use me as an excuse for not using the search function.

And, sorry, I can't help you with rack cases either. I put all my stuff on a cheap table

peace and good luck