Porta03 playback only in Mono

iheartblondie

Hey everyone, I'm hoping someone can help me out.

I'm recording with a Tascam Porta03 Ministudio. It records fine and everything, but when I play my tape back on a regular cassette player, it only plays back in mono.

If I hit the play button while it's still in the Porta03, it'll playback in stereo just fine. The tape only plays back in mono if I put it in a different player.

Now, maybe this is normal for 4-track recorders, I don't know. I'm very new to analog recording, please help!

By "regular cassette player", I mean any Walkman or boombox tape player.

The models aren't relevant because I've tried listening to the tapes on several tape-playing devices and it keeps playing back in mono, but when I play the same tape in my Porta 03, it plays back in stereo.

A cassette has four tracks. On a regular system, this is divided into two pairs so you have a left and right channel for each side of the tape. This means it's only playing back two of the four tracks - you have to put the cassette in the other way to hear the other side.

A 4-channel cassette for a portastudio machine works the same way, except that it plays back all 4 tracks at once to allow for overdubbing. If you put the cassette in backwards it will play all the tracks backwards.

Because the tracks are used in different ways, playing a 4-channel cassette in a stereo deck will not give you sensible results. To get a normal stereo recording, you will need a stereo recorder. There should be a stereo out on the portastudio to give you a stereo signal that can be recorded on the stereo deck.

Like JP Morris said, this is called "mixing" or "mixing down." You can just use the inputs on your computer soundcard if you don't have anything else, and it should sound just fine.

Just run an RCA cable from the Line Out jacks on the Porta 03 and use a female RCA-to-male 1/8" stereo adapter to go into your computer's soundcard.

3.5mm Male to (2) RCA Female Y-Cable, 6"