Please advise me on my studio.

Blink 182

I'm extremely sorry if this is not the 'correct' way of doing this, or if I am in the wrong section. I just have quite a few questions and I thought it would be best to do it all in one thread.

Firstly, I'm not proud of any of my gear. Most of it was bought without the thought of creating a project studio, and I don't know an awful lot about equipment. So my choices were probably very bad.

I have been recording for about 2 years, so I'm still a novice, but I don't make as many stupid mistakes as I did two years ago. I have a basic grasp of most of the fundementals of recording, some more basic than others. I'd like to think I can at least track and mix a piece of music that isn't totally unlistenable to.

My set-up currently;
2 Shure PG81s
2 Shure SM57's
2 AKG clip on tom mics
Audio Technica ATM25
AKG C2000b

Running into a Yamaha O1V (I realise this is superior to my mic choice, but eBay was fantastic to me) to Wharfedale Diamond 8.2 Pro Active monitors. This is all goes into my Creative emu 1212m via the ADAT inputs.

I record mainly drums with this set-up. I want to replace the PG81s with a pair of Studio Projects B1s...am I right in thinking this would be a significant improvement for overheads? I'm not a fan of close mic'ing drums, so I really would like to create a nice overhead sound. Any recommendations on other microphones that would suit my needs? I think around £150 for each mic would be my limit.

Although I am not too informed on mic pre-amps, I am under the assumption I will need to buy some to improve my sound. I've searched the threads, but I couldn't really find the right answer. I just want to know, for around £300, would I be able to buy 8 channels of pre-amp, and would this improve my sound and be a worthy investment? Could anyone recommed some to me?