Pickup questions

danw

cheap bastard
Hello,

I've been working on a frankenstein-type project guitar for awhile now, and it's about time to get some pickups for it. I have a few questions:

1) I've heard good things about GFS pickups in general on this board. Can anybody vouch specifically for the Dream 180s? Man, they're pretty, if nothing else, and half the price of any of the big brand-name ones I've seen.

2) How close does the string spacing have to be to the pole spacing on the pickup? I'm looking at a bridge with 2" string spacing, and the bridge pickup calls for 2 + 1/8". Is that going to cause a big problem, or do I have some room there?

3) Can any humbucker be wired for coil-tapping? I don't have that on any of my existing guitars, but it sounds like a versatility I would like to have. And for that matter, do pickups typically come with wiring instructions? I've never bought just a pickup before, and I'm a bit new to this business.

Last edited:
Hello,

I've been working on a frankenstein-type project guitar for awhile now, and it's about time to get some pickups for it. I have a few questions:

1) I've heard good things about GFS pickups in general on this board. Can anybody vouch specifically for the Dream 180s? Man, they're pretty, if nothing else, and half the price of any of the big brand-name ones I've seen.

2) How close does the string spacing have to be to the pole spacing on the pickup? I'm looking at a bridge with 2" string spacing, and the bridge pickup calls for 2 + 1/8". Is that going to cause a big problem, or do I have some room there?

3) Can any humbucker be wired for coil-tapping? I don't have that on any of my existing guitars, but it sounds like a versatility I would like to have. And for that matter, do pickups typically come with wiring instructions? I've never bought just a pickup before, and I'm a bit new to this business.