Phones n Monitors

qwiktune

Sorry for another thread asking for advice on headphones and monitors but I'm putting together (or upgrading rather) my simple home studio for hiphop recording. Currently i'm using a Tascam US-800 as my interface with an MXL V63M mic for recording. Right now I have no monitors and have been trying to use some simple Sony headphones to mix :facepalm:. I've been borrowing a set of Beats headphones (i think its the Pro version) from a buddy of mine cause since they are powered it kinda of gives a better sound however they are pretty boomy. I'm just looking for a set of headphones that are good for recording and listening mainly. Like for the artist to hear the music and himself while recording. Since learning I should really be using monitors to mix, I'm looking for a simple pair. My basement where i'm recording is not treated and i understand the importance of it, however as im just starting out so i'm looking for something entry level but good enough that I wouldnt need to upgrade right away when I get more experience. My price point would be somewhere around $99 for headphones and $150ish for a pair of monitors, if possible.

To be honest with you.........I'd wait a little longer until I could afford a little more $$$. Especially for monitors. You mention that you don't want to have to upgrade soon after. At $150 a pair for monitors (new).........you will. Maybe spend the money on decent phones like the Audio Technica ATH-M50's......or the like. That will help you to get the track in better to start with and then look around for a good deal on some 6 inch or bigger monitors...........new or used. Just my 2 cents. Good luck.

What kind do you recommend? Only thing i've ever really looked into were Rokit 8s. I was looking at the ATH M50s actually as well. Others include AKG K-271 MKII and Shure SRH840. Monitors however, i'm not to familiar with as much yet.