Panel Absorbers Location?

GCR

Hello,

I lurk here every now and again, but have never posted.
As this project goes from paper to reality, I'm sure that will change.

I'm a musician (Drums), who pays the bills by day as an Architect & Electrical Engineer (Hey, It's a job ;) )

So, Music is not new to me, and construction and it's techniques are not new to me... but acoustical engineering is. I've been researching, for some time now, what it would take to finally have a proper music studio w/ recording capabilities. And a proper home outside the home for all my kits and gear.

Now, I'm not a sound engineer either but would like to expand my music interest by being able to record.

I've taken some considerable time researching all aspects of this project and have identified & set realistic goals for what I want out of this.

Here is the short and sweet of it in an attempt to not get too long winded. (If I haven't already) :rolleyes:

Playing: Playing Music Is My Primary Goal.. Both Alone & w/ a full Band. (Practice & Rehearsal Space) Hard Rock & Punk

Recording: For Fun, MySpace, Feedback & Demos. Will be initially investing about $1500-$2000 in Gear. Primarily Presonus FireStudio Digital Recording. So Basically a Digital Studio.

Isolation: Achieve Reasonable Isolation so as to not bother my neighbors w/ late night practices. Also, To Isolate Control Room from Studio Space.

Room Acoustics: To achieve a nice balance of sound in both rooms. Control of Highs, Mids & Lows.

I'm at the point where I'm about to draw all this up and put all my research into the design phase. The base of this design will start with a relatively standard garage design. (Both for cost & portability. If I move, I'm taking it with me)

The SAE Site has been my bible for research into this subject.

(If you've read this far, I thank you for you patience)

However, I can't seem to find an answer for a specific question I have.
Where do you place the Panel Absorbers in relation to the drum set?