Operatic vocal recording

Morodiene

I'm an opera singer and I'm writing my own music with operatic-range vocals but with mostly digital instrumentals. I'm using a Yamaha MOX6 for most of the instrumental stuff and wanting to add the vocals. Since I'm just starting out with this I've put the backing tracks just in Audacity, but I can also use Protools. I just wanted to keep things simple as I'm learning.

For mics, I have an Audio-technica ATR30 - low-end, I know. I also have an Zoom H4n I can use.

I've read elsewhere on this forum that you want to record so that the vocals are -12db to -18db somewhere in that range. Also, that when you sing softer stuff you move in and the bigger stuff step further away.

The room I'm in is not dead, but not overly live either. I have hardwood floors with some area rugs and somewhat high ceilings.

What I'm getting right now from the mic going directly into my computer and recording in Audacity I'm not happy with at all. It sounds really flat and too much in your face, but it's also very quiet. So I'm guessing this isn't the way to go.

What do you recommend with the equipment I have? I want to have a clear sound, but I also want to put effects on the vocals like chorus and a bit of reverb to have it match what's going on in the instruments.

Hi,
When you're working to a premade mix or a mix that is underway, the vocals will usually sound pretty flat and dry from the outset.
In pop/rock etc at least, there's likely to be a bit of eq and reverb or delay going on there to help blend the vocal in with the music.
What you're hearing right now is kinda like a band on a stage in a venue, but the singer is right beside you.

Sometimes bass can contribute to a vocal sounding like it's on top of, or separate from, a mix. More often than not I low cut drastically at around 150hz.
Proximity effect (being close to a cardioid mic), and a bad room or untreated room can contribute to a build up of lower frequencies too.