Noob question incoming...

NikDavila

I'm pretty new to mixing/mastering and my question is as follows. When I'm listening to my song through my headphones or monitors, it sounds great, I feel like it's done or almost done...then I go ahead and plug it in to the aux cable in my car (which has a pretty good sound system) and it sounds horrible. All of the depth is gone and it's just so empty compared to how it previously sounded. Any clues as to what's causing this or what I can do to fix it?

I'm pretty new to mixing/mastering and my question is as follows. When I'm listening to my song through my headphones or monitors, it sounds great, I feel like it's done or almost done...then I go ahead and plug it in to the aux cable in my car (which has a pretty good sound system) and it sounds horrible. All of the depth is gone and it's just so empty compared to how it previously sounded. Any clues as to what's causing this or what I can do to fix it?

First thing's first - check your car stereos settings for audio. It's always possible that someone adjusted, for example, the treble/bass/stereo options and this is why it sounds like crap through it. How do CD's, radio sound through the car?

Next, what headphones and monitors are you using? Is the room you listen to your mixes in treated?

First thing's first - check your car stereos settings for audio. It's always possible that someone adjusted, for example, the treble/bass/stereo options and this is why it sounds like crap through it. How do CD's, radio sound through the car?

Next, what headphones and monitors are you using? Is the room you listen to your mixes in treated?

CD's sound totally fine. The settings were my first thought as well. The room is totally untreated, just a bedroom. The monitors are Mackie CR3s and the headphones are Behringer HPS3000s

Make sure your aux input in your car stereo does not have a preset eq.