Noise from DI box?

XtenanetX

Hello, this is my first post here, so I hope it's in the right category and stuff.

So I have a Behringer U-Phoria UM2 DI box, which is pretty cheap but kinda just worked out for my budget at the time. The issue I'm having is that there is constant noise that is played through it if I try to record. This noise really isn't affected by the input gain on the box nor the volume knobs on guitars or anything I'm recording. After doing some research on this, I came across the topic of ground loops, so I took what I thought should be the solution, which was to buy a line conditioner. I ended up with a Furman PST-2+6 Power Station, which I hope was actually what I wanted. I have my computer plugged into this, so I'd assume that ground loops shouldn't be a problem.

So, what are your opinions on this? I'm assuming you guys probably know a lot more than I do, since I'm really new to this. I didn't know if maybe it's just because it's a cheap box, if the line conditioner doesn't work (or if its not the kind of product I even wanted), or if it's something else entirely. Thanks in advance!

That is not a "Direct Injection" box X, that is a very basic Audio Interface. Cheap tho they are, the Uphoria range seem to be pretty good, I shall be eyeing up my local Cash Generators for one post Crimble!

If all you have is the Behringer and a computer you can't have a ground loop. The classic GL situation is, AI/laptop on a charger/earthed active monitors. No, I am pretty sure you just need to set Windows (7?) up properly.....