No idea what im doing, but im trying...

fireandglass

So here is my project studio ive been building for a few months. The bigger part of the room is going to be the live room and its 20x17, the smaller platform area i want to be a control room and it has dimensions of 9x9. Below are pictures from almost every angle. Any advice on construction before insulation goes in would be appreciated. I have to make this post before i can post pictures

pictures

IMG_1385.jpg

IMG_1383.jpg

IMG_1382.jpg

IMG_1388.jpg

IMG_1387.jpg

Sweet space; that'll make alot of people jelous!:D
Is that a stand alone building? Is there any HVAC? I dont see any ductwork.
Do you have an actual floor plan drawn up or are you winging it?

9x9 sounds awful small (and square) for a control room especially if you'll be mixing in there (small space, square room, not good).

Most people opt for non parallel walls.

You'll get PLENTY of help around here if you ask for it. :D
You might check out John Sayers site too- I havent been over there in a while, but I though they had sample studio layouts.

Its a room above a new 2 car garage addition. My parents used it as storage but agreed to let me build a studio in it! pretty awesome...but i have no idea how to build a studio. I think AC is going to be just a bunch of fans in the summer, heat for the winter ( i live in buffalo so i DEFINATELY need heat ) i was thinking of buying this heater. I have a gas line i can extended from the garage right below.

I know the control room isnt ideal but its such an odd shaped room there isnt really another application for that little space. Here is a picture of the acoustic treatment recommendation from Auralex.
PaulBesch.jpg

I was just going to buy everything they listed and follow thier advice but if anyone has cheaper alternatives, im all ears.