Nine Inch Nails sounds

tomb

i finally got a midi keyboard 2 weeks ago. I have been blown away by soft synths and samples. i bought the moog soft synth thinking it would sound ok, but i could no beleive how amazing that program is. My question is, what kind of soft synth would i need to get to produce nin sounds like closer. im new to keyboards so i dont know if im saying this right, but to me the first part other then the drums would be the bass line. nin has always impressed me with there sounds, well trent has. thanks alot.

You have the Arturia Moog modular synth? Please post some examples! And a review would be nice.

From what I understand, NIN uses Nord modulars. There was a couple discussions last spring on this topic, so use the search function. You might look into a used nord micromodular (about 350 on ebay) which you can control with your new MIDI controller, and then store a couple sounds for live use.

Softsynths- look into Absynth, or LinPlug's Albino.

Some free options are Iblit, Triangle II, FreeAlpha, and Crystal

Good luck
Chris

i will gladly get some samples up. i played with it last night for like 4 hours. theres tons of great presets, then i was trying to make my own patch. i had a mini moog given to me that never worked, i couldnt find anyone to get it fixed.i finally trahsed it. but i have wanted a moog for so long sincei hear return of the rentals. so when i saw this i had to get it. and liek i said i was blown away.

He does a lot of screwy things to get his sound. Try running the synths through guitar amps and effects pedals. Take parts and reverse them, slice them up and loop them. Record ambient percussive sounds and map them to a keyboard. Just play around until something sounds cool.