New to tape, looking for advice on recording levels

weeping_wholes

Greetings! I've been recording and mixing on DAWs for a couple of decades and have done a little on the big tape, but nothing extensive and definitely not at home. I just got a Tascam 424 mkii to play with and have noticed that I get funky results with type ii tapes. Funky being low playback levels and sometimes some amplitude up/down warbling. This doesn't happen with type I at all. I've tried a handful of different type ii tapes, including some of the newer Tascam 424-s. When I crank the levels quite a bit the amplitude issues go away and the playback level is a lot more reasonable. From what I understand it makes sense that I'd want to go hotter into type ii, but I'm hitting them with nearly +6 on the meter in order to have them sound like the type I does at 0 - +3.

Does this make sense?

There's a few issues with this recorder so I want to be sure this isn't an additional problem, but expected.

Thanks a lot.

Firstly I would make sure that the heads are scrupulously clean using cotton buds (aka Q tips) and isopropyl alcohol. If a thorough head clean doesn't solve the problem then it sounds like someone may have got at the internal level controls that feed the noise reduction or maybe the tapes you are using are different to the tapes that Tascam used to calibrate the machine. Do you see the same issue with the noise reduction switched off?