New to miking drums, I have some, what else is needed?

Mr Fruit

Ok, i have a 5 piece kit set up, and i need to think about mic's.

Ill be recording it with a fostex R8, via a fostex 8 track mixer, i like the analogue thing, and its what ive got whether i like it or not.:D

Anyway, i have 2 Rode NT1's which i was thinking of using as overheads. I dont want to spend loads, as every quid i spend on mics, is one that i cant spend on other bits, like mic leads other leads and beer....all of which i still need.

my questions are:

1. Will i be able to get a decent sound with just these....remember im new to recording, so ill be learning as I go.

2.I cant run phantom power on my desk with dynamics-its either on or off, so ive got to use the Rodes, and other condensers I presume....Is there any way round this? other than buying a completely new set up of dynamic mics?

3.Where is the best place, to place overhead mics?(dont say overhead!)

4.If i were to buy another couple of mics (ive read the idiots guide sticky at the top) so I had 4 mics-presuming your going to tell me theres a way i can combine phantom and non phantom powered mics, which should i buy? im a guitarist originally, and ill need a guitar mic, so i was hoping maybe a sm57 cold be employed as 1 of the other drum mics, so that I could use that to mic my amp later on.

5. Am i talking shit, and should I just forget about it, and see what happens.

thanks.....:rolleyes:

SM57 would work well as a snare mic, prob. as a tom mic, too. With careful setting, you might get it to mic all three, if you have a lot of patience. A Shure Beta 56A would be better, and it can work fine as a acoustic guitar, guitar amp, harmonica or vocal mic.

A Shure Beta 52 is a good kick drum mic.

Beta are more expensive than comparable Shures, but are more robust and reliable- they can take abuse much better. If you need to save some bread, the SM's may be better for you than the Beta's, esp. if you know you will take care of them.