New to microphones question?

bruuen

hi, as stated, i'm new to mics...i'm wondering, is it possible to achieve good recording results with a condensor mic in a home studio setting without a dedicated vocal booth (or any tips of what to do in place of this)

also, what are some pretty good mics to record vocals with (in the pro sound but amateur wallet category) thanks

ps. i'm using a presonus firebox soundcard, are the pre's good enough for some nice vocal recording? thanks

bruuen said:
hi, as stated, i'm new to mics...i'm wondering, is it possible to achieve good recording results with a condensor mic in a home studio setting without a dedicated vocal booth (or any tips of what to do in place of this)

What does your room noise sound like? Are we talking about a large living room that just has a refrigerator in the next room producing a tiny bit of noise? Are we talking about a 6' x 8' bedroom containing a computer with a loud, whining fan positioned three feet from the mic? Are we talking about an HVAC system that sounds like a jet engine when it turns on?

We need a little more context to answer that question.... The general answer is "yes, but you'll need to pay attention to your environment and minimize noise sources."

My $.02,

When I have to record in rooms that are less-than-optimal, I stay away from large-diaphragm condenser mics. A cardiod, small-diaphragm can capture great sound while minimizing a bad room. I've had good vocal results with an Oktava MC012 and a good pop filter, as well as dynamic mics like the SM58.

thanks for the replies guys...sorry, i wasn't even thinking of the room stuff when writing this...

i'm not in a very good room now, but i'll be moving, so i'll give those specs: