New instructional series - would love some opinions

famous beagle

Hey guys,

I've started doing a "Lick of the Week" series on YouTube, and seeing as this is my first time doing this type of thing, I would love some opinions from other players as to what is good, bad, etc. (I know the focus is soft on the beginning of #2!).

I plan on getting better with the video quality as I learn more and get some better equipment, etc., but I'm open to comments on that as well.

Any comments are welcome. Thanks in advance!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mejgFlZndbg&list=PLJxjjtdC6gro7rkaq7W55i2U_VZkHInhD

Ok, so country isn't my thing but I've seen shit like that done far, far worse. You break the lick down well to explain the different bits, as people normally work their way through videos from beginning to end it would be worth playing it slow then at tempo at the end again after you've explained how to do it.

Also, while I wouldn't know a famous country lick from Gregorian chant you might get more interest if you did well known licks or solos.

This is a solo I've been working on just coz my playing is getting a bit stale and I want a few new ideas.
Rabea Massaad Guitar Solo - Full Lesson - Musicisum - YouTube
Now it's not your thing, but check out the way he breaks it down. You're already making a good job of it but this might give you some style pointers.

Nice beard.

Thanks much for the pointers! Rabea's video is definitely very good quality for sure!

I've always found it overkill when instructors list fret numbers and string numbers for almost every note, but I guess if someone doesn't know the notes on the neck, then this is what they want? I sometimes forget that many players don't know the neck I guess.