New Age Celtic

cmhansen

I think I need help. Umm.. I've been working on a new project the last year or so and this was the first of about twelve pieces that I've written for it. The problems come when I'm putting a vocal track onto the music. I've never done it before because I can't sing very good and I know some people who can, and I've finally got them to sing.

What I'd like to know is, is the vocal sitting in the mix well enough, and if not how would you try and fix the problem. Also there seems to be little like drop out of volume throughout the piece which I can't account for when playing all the tracks individually and together, but appear when I bounce to a wav file.

Also would like to know what you think of the piece in general. The vocalist said she is going to sing the piece again 'cause she's not happy with the wavs she sent me. So don't spend to much time comtemplating the vocal, besides the placement if you will.

Vikings

Thanks for any listens and any comments. It sure will be appreciated. ;)

PS It's at Soundclick, so sorry about the wimpy player. :eek:

It's rather bright, overall. Perhaps the vocal is having to compete too much with the brightness of some of the patches. I would try to roll off the highs elsewhere than the vocal, then use a deesser to compress and then boost the highs on the vocal.

mshilarious has it pretty well sorted. He knows of what he speaks.
There are some nice mids but not much deep bass to anchor the piece.
This is a nice piece so be careful how you treat it.

That is a nice song. It does sound like it's gonna be a tricky one to mix.

It's really hard to hear what's going on. I'd want to strip out everything except the percussion and vocals and get that sounding right before adding those synths. There is some serious competition for sonic space going on there -- and perhaps too much reverb blurring.

A pro would know what to fix in 5 seconds. I'd just have to start from scratch and try to hear the clashes.

Good luck