Need some basic advices on recording!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vargmork

Greetings!

This is my first post in this forum, I hope I can get some help on recording through here.
I have a one man band and I want to start recording some songs but I'm new in the recording field so I need some advices on the matter.

I own a guitar + marshall valvestate amp, a Bass + amp, and a basic drum set, now I would like some advice on what gear do I need to start recording.

The style of music I play is Black Metal like Burzum, Darkthrone, Carpathian Forest etc. Second wave of norwegian black metal so to speak, so I do not need a perfect quality recording whatsoever, I want it to sound raw and primitive like I play it.

I was thinking to buy a Tascam DP-02 to start recording some songs. Can you give me advices on what gear do I need to start recording songs? like microphones or if there is a better choice concerning the recorder ( a better recorder for the same money ).

I also would like to know if its possible to record drums with only 2 microphones, my drum set is really basic, it only has: 1x Bass Drum, 1x Snare Drum, 2x Tom Tom, 1x Floor Tom and 4 cymbals.

If you can give me some basic tips on the recording process I would really appreciate it!

I really appreciate all the help anyone can give to me.

Thank you!

Haven't used them, but I think the Zoom R16 and R24 are more bang for the buck than the Tascam DP-02. I have used a DP-02 and it works but it's limited. I think the Zoom will let you do 24 bit recording while the Tascam is only 16. This is going from memory though. The Zoom will also let you record 8 tracks at once and it can function as a standalone recorder, an interface and/or a control surface to a computer based Digital Audio Workstation like Audacity or Reaper et cetera.