Need help selecting a mixer for a Pro Tools Digi 001

sevendustweb

Hello...

I am very new at this, so please bear with me.

I am in the process of building a computer with a Pro Tools Digi 001 unit. My band wants to use an outboard mixer with this rig. I have been told to get a mixer with "ADAT/Optical multi pre's", but I have no clue what the hell they are referring to.

I looked around at some mixers, but to no avail. I can't afford a Mackie Onyx. I am looking at an Alesis Multimix 12 USB, but again, I have no idea. Do I even need a mixer with a computer interface, or can I go with a regular mixer?

PLEASE!!! Any help would be greatly appreciated. This is stressing me out as I have no clue what the hell is going on with this.

sevendustweb said:
Hello...

I am very new at this, so please bear with me.

I am in the process of building a computer with a Pro Tools Digi 001 unit. My band wants to use an outboard mixer with this rig. I have been told to get a mixer with "ADAT/Optical multi pre's", but I have no clue what the hell they are referring to.

I looked around at some mixers, but to no avail. I can't afford a Mackie Onyx. I am looking at an Alesis Multimix 12 USB, but again, I have no idea. Do I even need a mixer with a computer interface, or can I go with a regular mixer?

PLEASE!!! Any help would be greatly appreciated. This is stressing me out as I have no clue what the hell is going on with this.

Questions:
Have many channels do you need?
Whats your budget?

Unless you are determinded on getting a mixer, what about external pres?

How many channels...

I need around 6 - 8 channels. The band likes the idea of a mixer because a.) it allows them to be more hands on; and b.) they can use the mixer for live shows.

The budget if we go with a Pro Tools Digi 001 is: $250 - $350

If we skip Pro Tools and go with ACID/Cubase, the budget will be: $350 - $450.

bcains said:
There are many options:
Yamaha MG124FX 12-Channel Mixer $267