Need help mixing bass

wallystripes

Ok so Ive been recording myself for a couple of months and I have done mainly acoustic guitar, voice, electric guitar and some synths. Everything fine so far, but I wanted to try a full mix with electric bass and drums, so I recorded some simple stuff but I have been struggling to get a nice electric bass sound in the mix.

I was wondering how do you guys normally do it, I know it depends a lot on the song, instrument and way it was recorded but I want to know some of the different techniques and then try them myself to see which works best.

Direct in; mic a good bass cabinet set up in a good sounding room; a combination of both.

I DI into PodFarm and set up a good podfarm sound (or dual tone) and record that.

Plug my bass straight into my recorder and press RECORD and PLAY at the same time.

Yeah, I know those are like the standard ways to record bass, ive tried them. But do you make any significant changes later on the mixing stage? (EQ, Effects, Compression, etc)

Yeah, I know those are like the standard ways to record bass, ive tried them. But do you make any significant changes later on the mixing stage? (EQ, Effects, Compression, etc)

I don't know about "significant", but I might cut somewhere around 200-300hz a little and compress. But it really depends on the song whether I do any of these things and how much I do it. I'm usually 95% happy with my bass as soon as it's recorded. The other 5% is small adjustments to suit the situation. If you're not happy with your sound at the source, it might be the bass, the strings, the way you're playing, etc....Besides that, the rest is sweetening. It shouldn't be depended on to make or break the bass track.

yeah, I guess my bass sound is not awesome, it is decent, but when I hear it within the mix I feel it is missing some power. I will try something different