Need choice on great quality but cheap, first studio monitor. And few questions..

1jordyzzz

This is my first post, hi i'm jordy, and i came from korg forums and gearslutz also (but i'm a noob).

I currently want to buy my first studio monitor.. My room is untreated (for not long), now i want to buy a monitor.. Awesome folks at gearslutz recommend an Equator D5, which is cheap, but had many good reviews.. Is is good?? BTW I'm not going to KRK's, as i've heard it and many people said mixes on them will not sound so good on other system.. I'm also leaning towards HS80, but due to my small room, and it's backside ports, it probably won't do well on my room, but i have read good reviews on it also.. Anymore recommendation??

And while browsing on Gearslutz also, i've learned that people, when they bought a new monitors, they listen to a pink noise for a long time through those monitors.. What's the purpose of that??

Anyway, thank you very much.. I hope i can learn much from here :D

You should listen to a number of commercial songs you're familiar with (reference tracks) through any monitors you use. The reason those folks said their KRK mixes don't translate well to other systems could be because they've never heard what a professional mix sounds like through the KRKs.

well like i said, i'm a noob :D
So, i suppose you are recommending a KRK?

I'm not recommending anything, except that you listen to your reference tracks on the monitors you intend to use before you start mixing. That goes for the best, most expensive monitors as well as the budget models.

My problem is that i live in a province on Indonesia, not it's capital.. Few people here had a decent monitor speaker and no shops provide a floor model... So i need recommendation from expert..

No offense here, but you're not helping me...

I know you're an expert. I just want to know a good monitor recommendation..