My recordings don't sound how my synthesizer sounds.

AnalogArchangel

Hello all, new here :)

I am by all means self taught when it comes to recording so here's my problem.

I'm using Cubase, all though I don't think it matters for this, I record audio for my tracks with Hardware synthesizers, so my setup for how I record is like this.

-Hardware synth > rackmount FX > Stereo input on analog mixer > my soundcard I'm using an M-audio Delta 2496 soundcard, it's a bit old but it still kicks ass.
I have my mixer routed into my soundcard with an RCA cable, so, record out on mixer into the back of my soundcard.

So whenever I record a track with my synthesizer into my daw via MIDI, the recordings do not match the sound that I am hearing from my synthesizer, basically the recording seems to have all of the low frequencies cut out of it.

The stereo input that I am routed into on the mixer has Eq settings of HF-0 LF-6, so I have it setup so I can hear the low frequencies at the perfect amount it is just the way I want it to sound, but the recorded sample = doodoo.

So I tried leaving more headroom, I peaked at -12db, the sample looked great with little to no highly distorted clippings... but I'm still getting the same results. I was told I should update my soundcard, but no way! this card is just great!

So for any of you recording pro's out there could help me out on this would be fantastic, love to you all :)

Set the mixer EQ settings flat and get the sound you want from the hardware synth.

Peaking at -12dBFS you shouldn't be getting *any* distorted clipping, unless it is coming from the synth, FX, or the mixer.

What rackmount FX are you using? The cheaper ones can be great tone sucks.

The answer may lie in getting proper gain-staging between the synth> FX> mixer.

I would try some tests with the synth > mixer > soundcard and leave the FX out of the chain and see if you can get closer to the recorded tones you are seeking.