My mix sucks at low volumes!

Laimon

Well, actually it kind of sucks also at higher volumes :P
Ok, I'm by no means a pro, but I try to at least record my stuff in a way that wouldn't sound totally amateurish. At a decent volume it sounds fairly ok, but when I listen to it at lower volumes suddenly the contrast with professional products becomes evident: while the latter remains (often) very clear, intelligible and "alive", mine sounds dull and muffled...
So, how do you deal with this? Should I perhaps adopt more cutting eq for instruments? Should I start mixing at lower volume, so to drive the mixing towards being understandable also at low levels? Also, how do you deal with Fletcher-Munson? (that is, your bass and highs will always be either too low or too prominent, depending on the volume)
Thanks for the help guys!

Dood... You are over/or under thinking the whole process.

Every step of the way in regards to compression or eq of individual tracks leads to the final mix. Then the next level to bring up the volume or whatever..

To be honest, I track similar heavy rock bands regularly, and have templates setup that even have limiter on the master bus. Not because I am trying to master the recording myself, but because I wish to hear what I hear myself as the end result. This is not something I would recommend for someone who does not have experience in all stages of tracking. There is much to be aware of before reaching the master bus.

Aw shit, I should just shut up now.

I will bet you that the room you are recording in is your biggest issue, and also likely the best investment you could make at this point is to help in the regards to treating of your room.

Your statement of tracks being 'dull and muffled' is not a eq or effects thing. That should be addressed before you even hit record. Even before the mic-or chose another mic.