MXL 990 vs SP B1

Sunny

Hi there. I am just starting out on a budget. I want to buy a mic primarily for vocals and second (much less use) for acoustic guitar. My voice is a bluesy tenor with ability to do softer ballads as well. I have not found a store where I can try out any condenser mics.

My research has bought out 2 mics that fit my budget. Studio Project B1 and MXL 990. Anyone have any opinion on which one would fit my needs better? Also, is there a better mic for the same price?

Sunny said:
Hi there. I am just starting out on a budget. I want to buy a mic primarily for vocals and second (much less use) for acoustic guitar. My voice is a bluesy tenor with ability to do softer ballads as well. I have not found a store where I can try out any condenser mics.

My research has bought out 2 mics that fit my budget. Studio Project B1 and MXL 990. Anyone have any opinion on which one would fit my needs better? Also, is there a better mic for the same price?

Neither are popular for vocals, I like the B1 on guitar though. For cheap vocals look at AT3035 used, MXL V67G new. Don't expect either to sound good on guitar. I have fallen in love with dynamics again (thanks chessrock & chessparov) for people with less than ideal recording conditions they are a far better solution.

I've owned both... and I kind of agree with paddyponchero... anyway, if I could only choose between the B1 or 990, I'd take the B1. ;)

Last edited:
The 990 doesn't seem to be the most loved MXL mic. Sticking to the mics I have and know, the SE2200 is certainly a cut above the Behringer mics IMO, and paddy's right that there are some very good cheap dynamics to be had if you look hard enough.