MXL 990/991 Package

davesol

Vocal Training Needed.
I recently purchased the MXL 990/991 package.

I find that anything I record with the 990 has a low hum in the background. I try the LCF on my Tapco Mix.120 and it still doesnt remove it.

Is there a reason the hum doesn't appear on the 991? I am wondering if large capsule microphones are more suseptable to poor power issues then small cap mics.

Any help is appreciated. Maybe I just have to RMA the package and go get something else...

I take it you're using the same cable, etc. to test the two?

I bought the package a while back, and neither one of them hummed (until I screwed them all up with my soldering iron). Sounds like maybe you could go for the RMA. I have no experience with their customer service, but I've never heard anything bad about it.

I should say, though, that if you fancy yourself an aspiring mic modder, these two are nice to learn on -- at least I think so. They don't sound too great to begin with, in my opinion (especially the 990), and you can make them sound better by swapping out some components. There's lots of info on the web about them. Worst case (my case :D), if you screw them up, it's not a tremendous loss, and the skill acquisition is probably worth it. You may even be able to find and fix the hum yourself :). Of course, doing this will absolutely void any warranty you might have, and soldering irons aren't appealing for everyone, admittedly.

Thanks! I will look into modding the mics. I have re-wired guitars and built various electronics kits, so it may not be too much of a stretch for me to mod these puppies.

I will work on fixing the hum first.

Thanks for the input!

check your cables and make sure all channels are clean....