MOTU and a seperate controller, or the Tascam firewire board?

endserenading81

Hello, I am looking to purchase a new firewire interface because I just made the switch from a desktop PC to a MacBook Pro. So I'm going from PCI to firewire. Tell me it's gonna be OK. jk.
My main question is whether I should get the MOTU Ultralite with a seperate USB controller for mixing, or get the Tascam FW-1082, which is both an audio interface AND controller. I have chosen these units because they are both in my price range.
My concerns are sound quality and reliability. I have heard nothing but good things about the MOTU unit. I've read it's sound quality is so much better than anything M-Audio dishes out, which is what I've had for 6 years.
It feels better to me mixing with a board. Since my Macbook Pro has limited inputs, the Tascam would save me one. But that's not that important.
This is my first time with Mac, portable audio, and firewire. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Rob

Hello, I am looking to purchase a new firewire interface because I just made the switch from a desktop PC to a MacBook Pro. So I'm going from PCI to firewire. Tell me it's gonna be OK. jk.
My main question is whether I should get the MOTU Ultralite with a seperate USB controller for mixing, or get the Tascam FW-1082, which is both an audio interface AND controller. I have chosen these units because they are both in my price range.
My concerns are sound quality and reliability. I have heard nothing but good things about the MOTU unit. I've read it's sound quality is so much better than anything M-Audio dishes out, which is what I've had for 6 years.
It feels better to me mixing with a board. Since my Macbook Pro has limited inputs, the Tascam would save me one. But that's not that important.
This is my first time with Mac, portable audio, and firewire. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Rob