Mix help

dnkygirl

M42 Entertainment
Hi All,

I have been working with my brother and cousin on a compliation demo. I need some help fixing the mix on this song. "Open Wounds" I am having issues with blending the vocals and music placement. I am a beginner when it comes to mixing so any input you could give would be appreciated. It doesn't feel like the vocals are sitting right... I am still having lots of vocal booth problems and ended up cutting open an opening in my closet door just to kill the dead bouncing problem... now it still seems like the vocals have no life to them. I am using a rode nt a mic for vocals... working up funds for a baby blue bottle.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=331276

Demi....how many layers of vocals are on there? You might want to play with the pitch on some of them to add some spice to the mix a little bit. Also cut the beat up.

Will look into it a little more for you.
Fiev

Demi....how many layers of vocals are on there? You might want to play with the pitch on some of them to add some spice to the mix a little bit. Also cut the beat up.

Will look into it a little more for you.
Fiev

There are about 3 layers in the verses and 2 layers in the chorus. I doubled up the verses to add volume and pan left and right to try to balance them. I did very little to eq them, because right now the sound i'm getting from my closet with this mic is bad. I will give your suggestions a try.... I have an L3 maximizer on the master volume to turn it up the whole track volume, but for some reason on this song it doesn't seem to be working... i need to look at the settings i'm using. When i bounced it to disc and played it out of itunes the whole tracks volume sounds like it needs to be turned up.