Mic Pre's around $1500

Micter

No Title
What do you guys recommend at the $1500 range give or take a few hunnerd. I have a GT Brick that I like but it doesn't work well with certain mics. I have a Focusrite Trackmaster Pro it's decent for the price but sort of sterile. I also have an ART DPS II that is good for adding lots of coloration. :D So with the preamps I own currently I am thinking a higher end solid state pre might be a good idea. Anything I should be looking at? Maybe a Blue Robbie? I know it's another toob pre but a lot of people seem to like it.

And for the record I have searched this site. :cool:

At 1500 you are on the cusp of greatness. What are you tracking? What do you want to do that you can't do now? How many ins do you use at once? What's the GNP of Uruguay?

Last edited:
You could get on the waiting list for the GT SUpre? How about a chandler germanium? How about a DAV and a AEA TRP, the latter only if you have ribbon mics, tube mics, or dynamics that you want more out of them?

Big Kenny said:
At 1500 you are on the cusp of greatness. What are you tracking? What do you want to do that you can't do now? How many ins do you use at once? What's the GNP of Uruguay?
I track pretty much anything you could think of. I'm capable of doing anything but I'd like to do it better. I'm currently running a Digi002R, with an octapre that gives me 16 ins and if I use the DPSII's coax outs I can get 18 ins.

I'd go with two channels of Phoenix DRS, very versatile, from clean (not Hardy clean, but clean) to awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwfully British.
EDIT: I just noticed they've gone up, maybe just one channel....

I like the suggestions of the Presonus ADL600 or Neve Portico 5012. Another fine preamp in that range is the Grace 201.

You can also bump up the budget a bit by selling the preamps you have now. Once you've heard a better preamp you're not going to want to use them anyway. Or maybe just sell the Focusrite, I've never been impressed with that particular unit.