Mastering your project: DIY or Go to a Pro?

Mastering: DIY or send to a pro?

• I do home recording, and I master it myself.

Votes: 82 72.6%
  • I do home recording, and I hire the pros to master it.

Votes: 21 18.6%
  • I am a pro: I think DIY is fine for mastering.

Votes: 5 4.4%
  • I am a pro: always use pros for mastering.

Votes: 5 4.4%

• Total voters

Jack Russell

I smell home cookin!
Well, this is the Home Recording forum, after all, so I'm very curious: what do all you "home recording" people do when you are ready to master your mixes? Is it worth learning to do it yourself, or is it better to send it out to a professional mastering shop and pay for it to be done?

[Poll following...]

I use the great AAMS program. I tried Har Bal but did not like it, tho it worked cool also. The MAIN thing, I think, is to take your time getting it right in the mix first. Do your best there, and then the mastering stage will be semi-easy....there is my 2 worth....

Jack Russell said:
Apology: I should have added "I don't know" as a poll option. Ooops!
Other poll options might include "It depends upon the purpose of the project", "It depends upon the budget of the project", and "It depends upon the needs of the client."

I can't answer this poll because I have done it both ways, and will continue to make the choice based upon the above considerations.

G.

Is your song going to be up against other commercial CDs? If that's the case then you might even be better off recording it at a studio + having a pro master it. After all, this is home recording.

If you do want to do it all yourself then the mix should already be good enough. Mastering should just be about maybe bringing up the levels and possibly shaping the overall song with EQ and making all songs on the CD sound good together in sequence. Also choosing the correct song order.