Mackie Mixer Aux Send Distortion

Mrtorto

Mackie Mixer Aux Send Distortion

Hey everybody,

I am new to recording my band and have been learning a lot using my zoom R16. We recently got a Mackie 1402 VLZ pro mixer for drums. I'm using two overhead mics, two toms, and a snare mic into the mixer which all sounds just fine on the monitors.

I wanted to add reverse reverb to the two overhead mics for a particular song we are working on. So, on Aux send 1 I have an unbalanced 1/4 cable going out of the mixer into an Electro-Harmonix Cathedral pedal (L mono input on the pedal) and the output of the pedal (L mono output) back in the L 1 Aux return.

Everytime I try to turn up the aux 1 send knobs on the two overheads’ respective channels the signal gets really distorted and messed up. What causes this and how can it be fixed to hear the effect clearly? I have tried different aux 1 send levels but it happens at all levels.

I appreciate any and all advice! Thank you!

That pedal may be looking for instrument level and you are feeding it like level.

You could test that by running a cable from the aux 1 output right into the return that you were plugging the pedal return into. If it doesn't distort, then you must be overloading the pedal.

So the
That pedal may be looking for instrument level and you are feeding it like level.

You could test that by running a cable from the aux 1 output right into the return that you were plugging the pedal return into. If it doesn't distort, then you must be overloading the pedal.
so running a cable from the aux send output into the return input?
If thatbis the issue, how would I change the aux send level to an instuemnt level going into the pedal? A passive DI box?

Thank you.

So the

so running a cable from the aux send output into the return input?
If thatbis the issue, how would I change the aux send level to an instuemnt level going into the pedal? A passive DI box?

Thank you.