Looking For Advice On Setting Up For Audio Recording/Production

TGibson

So I'm planning to build a setup for producing/recording music! I'm not too experienced, and have always made ways to avoid having physical hardware for my digital recordings(FL-ASIO, Rocksmith USB cable, Audacity audio streaming and digital audio cable). However, the latency is horrible and ASIO4ALL restrains me from hearing my own playing while recording line-in, which is why I used FL ASIO.

I don't plan to use a mic, I'd like a build that is compatible with virtual amps(BIAS FX, Guitar Rig).

Can anyone help me out?

What I have planned:
Radial Pro Dl Passive Direct Box
Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 (1st GENERATION) USB Audio Interface
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy PCIe RX 7.1 Sound Card with High Performance Headphone Amp

What I already have:
Quad Core 3.4 GHz Intel Haswell
Onboard sound card(RealTek High Definition Audio)
Reaper DAW
Guitar Rig 5
Windows 7

Not exactly sure I'd need both an audio interface AND a sound card from what I've been reading, but any input would be very much appreciated. :)

I'm assuming the connection procedure is: Guitar -> Audio Interface -> PC on-board USB -> Win7 -> DAW -> Playback through USB headphones.

I aim to be able to hear my guitar through my headphones as I'm recording, otherwise it's really hard to tell what kind of sounds I'm getting real-time.

The interface is going to be your most useful acquisition. It is the lack of an interface and a reliance on your RealTek audio that is the source of your latency.

If you want to focus on recording, then get the interface. The DI will come in handy, maybe. Forget the Sound Blaster.

The key to successful recordings is to think of the interface as your soundcard. Everything goes into it. Everything (headphones, speakers) comes out of it.