Isolation Techniques in New Studio

Muddy T-Bone

I'm now in my planning stages to move my studio into a larger room in my house.

The long wall on one side of the studio is not insulated and is 1/2" sheet rock attached to metal 2x4 studs. On the other side of this studio wall, is our TV and stereo and the room is our game room where everyone congregates. So much activity and noisy.

I'm pretty sure that if people were having a conversation in the game room, it could be heard in the new studio. This is not a good situation, and I'm studying isolation techniques.

My first thought to correct this was to install 2" fir strips 2 feet apart, and lay in 703 in the 2' gaps, and then sheet rock over this with 3/4" sheet rock. Now I'm considering a lower cost solution. Having blown-in insulation installed in this wall instead. Would the new sheet rock and 703 be that much more effective than bown-in insulation? Is there a better more cost effective technique that I should consider?

BTW. I will construct bass traps in 4 corners and rear wall/ceiling, as well as diffusion on the side wall, and a cloud above the recording area. Where is the ideal recording area, centered or 1/3 dodwn the length? The room is 14' X 15' X8

Sound isolation will not be achieved by either of your ideas - the sound will be transmitted through the sheetrock to the studs to the firring strips to the sheetrock. You may muffle it somewhat by the insulation, but that's it.

I was thinking along those lines. Plus it occurred to me that if used the fir strip 703 treatment the wall would be less "lossy", and I would have more low end problems to deal with as compared to simply having blow-in insulation.

Any better suggestion for some isolation of the common wall?

Muddy,

I would highly recommend buying my friend Rod's book - Home Recording Studio: Build It Like the Pros: Rod Gervais: 9781435457171: Amazon.com: Books