is post editing an out of time take ruining musicianship?

Br3n

So this is an open discussion on editing bad takes instead of making the decision to do the take again.

Are to many artist relying to much on the recording/mixing engineer to fix there bad playing and is this ruining the process of recording.

I personally have the player give me a really well played part no matter how many times it is played over just making do because its taking to long.

What are people thoughts in this?

An exceptional musician will always be able to land good takes and, if they're having an off day, they'll put in the time to get it right. I don't think it's really a matter of musicianship being ruined, but more likely that less good musicians are finding their way into the studio.

Editing can make up for a lot of short comings, but personally, nothing sounds better to me than a great take. As a musician I'll always play it one more time just for safety, but as a producer I usually won't force anyone to work harder than they are willing to (though I try to encourage it). It's good to always keep an open ear though, and make sure that unexpected moments aren't written off as mistakes all the time - sometimes that's where the magic is.

Agreed. But to what point do you stop aiming for the perfect take? I have sat through 110ish takes of a 20 second guitar solo to find that take 111 was spectacular and the one we wanted. All the other takes where good and could have been used when do say enough is enough?

That's tough to say because the perfect take is a pretty elusive concept, though you usually know it when you hear it. If you take too many takes with a fairly consistent musician then it can be a lot like splitting hairs. It's difficult because it's not exactly quantifiable. There could always be a better take down the line.