Is my guitar broke? please help!

Laynestaley

Newbie Shmewbie
I've been playing a Mexican Fender Telecaster for about two years now and I've always been pretty happy with it. Though recently I seemed to get trouble tuning my guitar. For example, when I've tuned the low E string (with a tuner!), when I play the first fret, I don't get a clean F, but it is just a little higher. This is the case on all the strings...
I just recently replaced all the strings and my guitar hasn't been exposed to any extreme conditions...
The neck looks ok, but I'm not an expert...

Any suggestions on what to do are greatly appreciated..

Look down the length of the neck from the headstock to see if the neck is bowed. A tiny bit is normal, but if it looks a little much, you may need a truss rod adjustment (I recommend going to a tech for this). Your intonation be be off, too, but I don't know how to fix that with a tele bridge.

I would try adjusting the intonation, particularly if you have switched string gauges. It sounds like the saddle on the low E needs to be adjusted backward to lengthen the string. With a little guidance you should be able to make the adjustment yourself:

http://www.mrgearhead.com/faq/telesetup.html

If that doesn't work, take your Tele to a guitar tech to determine if there is anything else going on.

There are any number of possibilities, and no one is going to be able to do a good job of diagnosis with out seeing the guitar. Take it to a good repair tech, and they will let you know what needs to be done. Estimates shouldn't cost you anything, and then you will know. Possible problems could be a worn nut, recent climate changes, worn frets, too much bow in the neck, too little bow in the neck, back bow. It could just need a setup. Like I said, without seeing it, I can't say.

Light

"Cowards can never be moral."
M.K. Gandhi