Is IT worth buying a proper CD recorder

desmond22

so got the 8 track going well, got a nice DAT recorder, but still need to get the music onto Disc. I have been using pro tools and the computer burner, but i have a feeling that the CD recorders are better, plus i want to keep the computer out of the loop.
Is there much of a positive sonic difference using a CD recorder or am i just a gear whore??

If you're going to mix directly onto the CD then I'd say it was worth getting a CD recorder. I've been using one since 1999 and it's the lick !

Stand alone CD recorders tend to have better A/D converters in them compared to what's in the average computer. So yeah, it's worth it.

Cheers! :)

Thing is...with computer CD burners there is no A/D conversion, since that was done by the interface that brought the audio into the computer.
Your files are already converted in the DAW...so any good quality computer CD burner will do a fine job, just use good quality media.

Plextor computer CD burners use to be some of the better choices back in the day...but I think now you can find a lot of good ones.

I have a quality standalone burner...but I rarely use it, only if I'm going to burn something on the fly.
All of my final mixes are made with the computer CD burner....and it's a Plextor.

Yeah, a standalone Cd Burner shouldn't compared with your computer's internal CD burner, they aren't the same thing. The benefits of using a standalone cd burner is that some of them have really good quality A/D converters. Now... how does a standalone CD burner compare to an equivalently priced audio interface? I'm asking myself the same thing.

Here's another thing to think about....

Most standalone CD burners are converting the audio to 16/44.1 as they burn the CD...even if they are 24bit on their front end, which means they are also dithering down from 24 to 16, and you can’t choose the type.