Interesting Stat

ashulman

I work with numbers by trade so this popped out at me and I thought it was interesting. Has anyone noticed that the ratio of responses to views is VERY consistently around 10-15%? I wonder why that is? Are there a number of people lurking about who don't post? Or is it that only 1 in 10 posts catch people's interest?

I would like to think it's because most people don't post unless they have something to contribute to the conversation. Who wants to read a bunch of posts that say "yeah, I agree" or "me too"?

BTW what does this have to do with the forum topic (mixing)? :D

DonF said - BTW what does this have to do with the forum topic (mixing)?

Nothing, but its like meditation. Sometimes its good to clear your mind thinking about something else so you can start with fresh ears again.

Either that or I'm just a geek who thinks that stuff is cool.

Probably the latter.

At a business I owned quite a few years ago, there was a guitarist that hung out there a lot a lot. He helped me with a few things from time to time. He was inquisitive about things some folks would pass on by. One day he told me he had noticed that the drink machine out front sold more Coke and Sprite than it did anything else. I hadn`t paid any attention to it, so it caught my interest and we watched for a few days. Sure enough even though there were a couple other brands as popular, most selected coke or either sprite. We deducted that most people are naturally lazy and would have to bend over twice if they selected anything else. Once to push the button and 2nd to get the bottle out of the machine. so its probably the same thing here, unless it really yanks their chain they only read and move to the next. Some may not post out of inhibition, which once they do a few times it is more freely done :)

Toki987 said:
We deducted that most people are naturally lazy and would have to bend over twice if they selected anything else.