In the market for a drumset... any advice?

SloppyJo

I feel that I have a need to learn drums on account of them just being awesome and fundamental to music, among other things.

That said, I am totally new to the world of banging things, and as of such, I am looking to buy a drumset. Preferably a one stop shop set that's got decent cymbals, drums, skins etc or anything else that I'm overlooking.

I'm looking for the best thing I can buy around the 1000 $ range [as a maximum let's say], and a versatile kit that can be tweaked to play several genres [anything really; but let's say the "heaviest" I'll go is hard rock and the lighter side of metal, whatever that means].

This kit is going to be exclusively used in the studio, if that's a consideration.

I hate to be THAT guy that's asking basic questions, but we all start somewhere I guess. Any advice that can point me in the right direction? :)

For studio use, any of the big name brands will be fine in your budget. Tama, Pearl, PDP, Mapex, etc they all make 4 and 5 pc kits that fall well within your price range and they all essentially sound the same at that price point. They heads you use and how you tune them will be the biggest factor in your overall sound. Cymbals are where the big money adds up. If you have a local Craigslist, look for complete kits with good cymbals. Post your findings in here and maybe we can help more.

Well, I see a Yamaha 5 piece stage-custom, with a Zidljean 16'' rock custom crash and every other cymbal being Paiste, going for 800 $ CAD.

As far as my limited knowledge of cymbals goes, Sabian and Zildjean are good bets. Not all too familiar with Paiste however...

Paistes are fantastic. But that doesn't matter. The model of the cymbals matter. All the companies make cheap models, good models, and great models. Zildjian makes good stuff and they also make shit. So do the others.

Hmm...

I found it in another thread here [how convenient] the crash on the Yamaha kit sounds like garbage...