if you built your own pc for recording...

nisthana

can you please tell me what motherboards, processor, RAM, HDD, powersupply, case, CPU fan, sound card etc you have ? Please tell me the model number so I can search that up on the net.

I am convinced that building a PC myself is not rocket science, but I dont know what components to use, specifically for sound purposes, and where to buy them.

This site has been really helpful to me. I thank thee for all the help

As far as what components to use, there are many many options. For Audio Stuff, I've found that motherboards with an Nforce chipset seem to be pretty well accepted. I've been using ASUS motherboards for a few years now and have been very pleased with their performance. I personally like AMD's desktop processors, and you will want DDR Ram (probably DDR400) I would probably look into getting Serial ATA (SATA) Hard drives, and most motherboards nowadays have SATA connections on them. As far as an audio interface (soundcard), I use an RME Fireface 800, and have also used the PreSonus Firepod and the Tascam FW-1804, all of which are Firewire devices. You would probably have to buy a firewire card for your motherboard, but those are cheap, and firewire devices will be more "future" compatible than a PCI audio interface.

Oh, and a fantastic place to buy computer equipment is www.newegg.com. Great prices, an overwhelming selection, and fast as hell shipping. Good luck to you.

Try this for size:

----------------

CPU:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ (Socket 939)

Motherboard:
Abit AN8

CPU cooler:
Zalman CNPS7700-CU Ultra-Quiet CPU Cooler

Case:
Lian-Li PC-7 PLUS Silver Aluminium

RAM:
OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC3200 Dual Channel Platinum Series EL-DDR CAS2

Power Supply (PSU):
Antec Phantom 500W Hybrid Fan Silent ATX2.0 PSU

DVD/CD writer:
Plextor PX-716AL Dual Layer Slot Loading 16x4x DVD±RW ReWriter - Retail

Two Seagate hard drives:
2 X Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 NCQ 250GB ST3250823AS SATA 8MB Cache