I think I want a Gretsch

Shakuan

I've been playing accoustic guitar for 5 years and I'm ready to buy a quality electric guitar. So I went to the store and stumbled on the Gretsch Duo Jet G6128. It played really awesome and I think I'll order the G6128T (with Tremolo) next week.

I'm just wondering what everyone has to say about it before I spend 2.5k on it! :)

Cool.

Gretsch is a wierd company. Their vintage stuff is all total crap but that is how they built their name. All their pre 1970 guitars are known for the binding coming apart, loose necks, and the glue joints cracking. The guitars apparently weren't put together very well and they literally fell apart. Nearly all of them have to have major surgery to keep going.

But all the new ones are made in Japan and appear to be quite good quality wise. They do their thing very well. I've always wanted to find one of the Malcom Young models, but those things are nearly impossible to find!

H2H

Hard2Hear said:
Cool.

Gretsch is a wierd company. Their vintage stuff is all total crap but that is how they built their name. All their pre 1970 guitars are known for the binding coming apart, loose necks, and the glue joints cracking. The guitars apparently weren't put together very well and they literally fell apart. Nearly all of them have to have major surgery to keep going.

But all the new ones are made in Japan and appear to be quite good quality wise. They do their thing very well. I've always wanted to find one of the Malcom Young models, but those things are nearly impossible to find!

H2H